Many people say that if it is not on Google, chances are it doesn’t exist! In simpler words, it indicates why having your business show up in a Google search is so important. Google Ads is one of the most popular platforms of advertising that businesses use to increase their leads, conversions, and sales. If you have not explored Google Ads simply because you don’t know how to use it, then you may find some helpful details in this blog.
What are Google Ads?
Google Ads is a paid advertising platform by Google that was earlier known as Google Adwords. It essentially functions when people search for specific keywords. They get search engine results showing paid advertisements targeted using the same keywords. For instance, if you use the term Dentist in Seattle, Google shows the following result.
You can see that these are the top ads by dentists in Seattle that show up on the SERP (search engine result page). This is great for advertisers because when you’re listed at the top of a result, you get a majority of traffic.
It is important to understand that if you create a paid ad on Google, there’s no guarantee it’ll end up at the top of a search page. That’s because your competitors may also be creating paid ads using similar keywords.
How does Google Ads work?
Google Advertising uses the pay-per-click (PPC) model, which means that marketers use a specific keyword and compete with others targeting the same keyword while bidding on it.
Your bids on a keyword are your maximum bids or the most you are willing to pay for a Google ad. For example, if your maximum bid for your ad is $5 and Google ascertains that your cost per click is $3, then it’ll give you that particular ad. But if the cost is more than $5, Google won’t give you the ad placement.
On the other hand, you can set a maximum daily budget for your Google ad, though you won’t spend more than a specific amount for your ad each day. This can also help you understand what budget you should use for your ad campaigns.
There are 3 bidding options for marketers.
- Cost-per-click (CPC) – The amount you pay when a user clicks on your ad.
- Cost-per-mile (CPM) – The amount you pay for every 1000 ad impressions.
- Cost-per-engagement – The amount you pay when a user performs a particular action on your ad (signs up for a newsletter, watches your video ad, shares your ad with their network, and so on).
What are the different types of Google Ads?
Google lets you run five different types of ad campaigns. Let’s look at each campaign and how they work.
1. Search ad campaign
This is the most popular Google Ad campaign that resonates the most with the business goals of various brands. Search ads have the potential to drive a massive amount of sales and increase the revenue of a business if done correctly. A search ad campaign appears when a particular keyword is searched for.
These ads appear on the search page with the symbol Ad next to the URL of a business. Search ad campaigns can show both text-based ads and the ones that appear in Google Shopping.
2. Shopping ad campaign
This allows you to promote your products more visually. If you have physical products to sell, Google Shopping ads can showcase them directly to buyers.
3. Display ad campaign
This leverages Google’s large network of website partners to display your ads on different websites on the internet. You can promote your ads to display on Google’s third-party websites, its email platform Gmail, or on its third-party apps.
4. Video ad campaign
This is where you can place your skippable or unskippable video ad that rolls out before a YouTube video plays.
5. App ad campaign
Just like video ads, app ads can be utilized for targeted campaigns. Google uses your text and other assets to furnish the ad for you.
How to make Google Search ads for your business?
Google Search ads are easy to create, not requiring any special assets to set up a campaign. It allows you to promote your business across Google’s large network of search results. You get more leads, drive up your sales, and direct more traffic to your website. You can reach specific audiences looking for products or services like yours.
Special note: Ensure that you have a Google account before getting started with making Google Ads.
Instructions to create a Search ad on Google.
1. Create a new search campaign.
Sign in to your Google Ads account and select a campaign. You need to choose your ad goal depending on whether you want sales, leads, or website traffic. Next, you need to select your campaign type, which will most likely be a search ad. The following step is to name your ad campaign.
2. Select campaign settings.
Here, you can choose your:
- Target audience – Initially, when you’re targeting an audience for your ad, think of the people who would be interested in your products or services. (learn more about it here)
- Budget and bidding – Your budget ascertains how many people see your ad, and your bidding decides what action people take. (learn more about it here)
- Extensions to enhance your ad campaign – Different extensions let people interact in different ways with your ads, such as provide contact numbers, fill out lead forms, visit sitelinks, and more.
3. Set up ad groups.
After selecting campaign settings, you need to create different groups of advertisements. All the groups you create should be relevant to what people interested in your products and services are looking for online.
4. Create Search ads.
Focus on the relevance of your keywords when creating your Search ads. Match your headlines and descriptions with the keywords in your ad groups. (learn more about it here).
Finish setting up
It may take a few days for your ads to show up after completing all of the above-mentioned steps to set up your campaign.
If you’re overwhelmed and confused seeing so many steps to make Google ads for your business on your own, here’s what you should do.
Get Practina to make Smart Ads for Google with ease.
What is a Smart Ad?
Smarts Ads are Google search ads that are created automatically by Practina for your business. A Smart Ad by Practina can make your business appear at the top of a Google search, connecting you with the right customers in your area searching for products and services that match what you offer.
How to create Smart Ads?
Practina optimizes your ads using the keywords you select for your business, improving the likelihood of connecting you with the right prospects almost instantly. Here are the steps to create your Smart Ads easily once you sign up with Practina.
- Select and add all the services you offer to your business settings page.
- Visit Practina’s home page and select the Ad Campaign tab.
- Next, click on the +Create ad button to create your Smart ad for Google.
- Practina will show different variations of your Smart ad to choose from.
- Select one variation of your ad you like the most.
- Your Smart Ad for Google is ready.
Watch this video tutorial that can guide you further on how to create your first Smart Ad for Google.
Practina acts as your Google Smart Ads specialist that can help you reach more people, get rapid results, and effectively measure the performance of your ads for you.
Practina is an intuitive social media marketing and management tool that can help your business stand out to your customers like never before. Don’t wait any further to get started.
Sign up with Practina for free today.